top of page

“SEW” MUCH LOVE FOR HOME DECOR HACKS: #DIY EMBROIDERY PAINTINGS

Stop dropping stacks on mediocre home decor and start making your own!


A couple of weeks after our #DIY Neon Paintings post and we’re still stuck inside 😢 As much as we loved making those, it would be a questionable design choice to put only neon paintings in my house.

Continuous boredom has led me back to … you guessed it, Tiktok, which surprisingly has cool DIY trends. A couple of dances, jokes, and cute TikToks later, I stumbled upon this tutorial for embroidery paintings. I’ve always wanted to try embroidery on some sort of material, so I was excited to learn how and try this painting tutorial out!



RESULTS:

SO… this tutorial was kind of 🔥🔥🔥?? All it took was a couple of bad beginning stitches, an infographic on how to back-stitch, and some patience, it turned out looking super sophisticated and really unique!

Even as a kid, I loved playing with those shoelace embroidery toys that were supposed to make learning how to tie your shoelaces fun (just me?) and this was quite frankly really similar! Of course, this had a lot more freedom in choosing a design and colour, as well as the level of complexity. I *REALLY* liked the way that the koi fish turned out, especially the more detailed parts on the fins.

This #DIY did however take way longer than I had initially planned for this. I think in total, it took roughly 5 hours and a season of Community to finish it! Also, while I liked the yellow, it was too light to make the white thread pop, making the overall impact a little less… impactful?


OVERALL VERDICT:

Despite the time and dedication it takes, the outcome was WELL worth it! I definitely would recommend you to try this one out if you have some spare thread lying around. It’s a fun way to keep your hands busy while binging Netflix, and ending up with a beautiful piece of art afterwards! Even I really want to try this again and switch up textures and complexities!


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page