top of page

The NEW Fresh Prince of Bel-HAIR: SCRUNCHIES!


Back in elementary school, #scrunchies were all the hype, with different colours and textures. The giant piece of fabric holding up your ponytail was not only functional, but a fashion statement, or as much of one as you can make at age 10. But much like the thin eyebrows of the '90s and “Silly Bandz” in 2009, fashion pieces come and go, with scrunchies being no exception.


Then came 2019! #Scrunchies made a comeback and I was left with a handful of dusty, cheesy, outdated ones. Stores were selling singular ones for anywhere from $4 to $12, and being broke and economical, a piece of fabric and an elastic was NOT worth that price. So, I attempted to make them myself!


“The headband is out! Scrunchies? In!”


A quick search on YouTube led me to JENerationDIY’s DIY Scrunchie tutorial video. Having amassed 4.6 million views, I figured that this had to be foolproof! Not a proud parent of a sewing machine (which college student is?), I decided to try the hand-sew and hot glue methods.



Results


Let’s start with the positives! The actual process is very easy and I really liked how I was able to customize the scrunchies any way I wanted by choosing different types of fabrics lying around my house. Plus, because I already had everything I needed, I didn't have to pay a penny! The final result actually looks pretty cute and is super functional.


This being said, there were a couple of things that caught me off guard as well. Despite the simple process, it took surprisingly long to complete - about 10 minutes per scrunchie, which isn’t a lot of time but definitely is longer than planned. Even an easy task such as cutting the fabric into a rectangle was more difficult than I thought, and I ended up cutting an extremely jagged line. I also somehow managed to prick and slightly burn myself a couple of times, but that might be because of my clumsiness.


My entire process of trying out both scrunchie methods is documented in the YouTube video!



Overall Verdict


If you’re looking for something to pass the time and you want less “mainstream” scrunchies, go for it!! It definitely is a fun project to try. BUT, if you’re looking for a functional product and are willing to spend the money, you might be better off just going out and buying one!



Leave us a comment and let us know if you want to try this #DIY or how it turned out if you already tried it! #TrialAndErrorProjects

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page